Klosterneuburg stands on the northeast rim of the Vienna Woods and is alienated from the Danube by a broad grassy isle. It attracts many visitors chiefly on account of its monastery which was founded by the Augustinian Canons. There is a widespread range of buildings high up above the Danube. It began as a monastery founded by the Babenberg Margrave Leopold III ("The Pious") in the 12th C. In 1730 Emperor Charles VI embarked on a program of large scale new edifice, but this was stopped again in 1755. Work was concluded only in 1842, and then on a condensed scale. The buildings of the monastery consist of the monastery church with Romanesque features which was renovated in Baroque style in the 17th C., the Leopold Chapel, a Romanesque-Gothic Cloister, the Leopold square and the monastery crypts. The famous "Verdun Altar" in the Leopold Chapel is particularly significant.