South of the Graz Burg stands the Late Gothic Cathedral, on the place of a former church devoted to St Giles, which is first referred to in 1174. In 1564 it became the court church, and in 1786 the seat of the Bishops of Seckau. Chiefly fine is the main entryway, bedecked with the coat of arms of its builder, Emperor Frederick III. On the south outside wall, facing on to a small square, are the relics of a Late Gothic fresco, the "Landplagenbild", depicting Graz in jeopardy by pestilence, the Turks and a plague of locusts. The interior of this church, chiefly Baroque, is extraordinary.