The Austrian National Library is housed in the authoritative Baroque building on Josefsplatz. It was constructed during the sovereignty of Charles VI to plans by Fischer von Erlach, father and son, between 1723 and 1726. Nikolaus Pacassi made some changes in 1763-69. The Baroque building was initially free standing, but it was associated by the Redouten range to the Hofburg in 1760. The huge central segment is crowned by a group of figurines depicting the goddess Minerva with her chariot, drawn by four steeds; it is by L. Mattielli and dates from 1725. The National Library, previously the Court Library, came into the possession of the state in 1920 and is now one of the world's foremost libraries.