The Pierides Foundation Museum houses an extraordinary private exhibition of Cypriot antiquities, originally collected by Demetrios Pierides (1811-1895), a Cypriot academic and archeologist, and further enriched by members of his family. The museum was established in 1839 in an enjoyable 18th century house. It has 2,500 exhibits, which range from the Neolithic to the medieval periods. The collection is alienated in different rooms. The first contains Neolithic terracotta and diverse representations of goddesses, alongside with bowls used in rituals. The bowls are festooned with depictions of birds. Room Two contains more earthenware with pictures of birds and fish, as well as figurines used in spiritual rites. There are also some former maps of Cyprus on the walls.