Museum, Monuments

Of the old merchants' houses only the one at the south end of Bryggen, the early 18th century Finnegård, has been well conserved in its original condition. Since 1872 it has housed the Hanseatic Museum, which gives an outstanding impression of the interior of a Hanseatic merchant's establishment, with displays of weapons, domestic furnishings and equipment, typically dating from the last days of the counting-house. The ground floor was used as the storage space of goods; on the first floor were the merchant's office, dining room and bedroom, and on the second the sleeping quarters of the apprentices and clerks.

Request Quotes for FREE!
Contact Details
1 + 4 =