Lofoten Islands, Norway - Mountain

Scenic, Mountaineering

The Lofotens - the Norwegian name Lofoten is singular are a series of mountainous islands strung out from northeast to southwest and separated from the mainland by the Vestfjord. The four main islands of Austvågøy, Vestvågøy, Moskenesøy and Flakstadøy, together with a number of medium-sized islands, lie so close together that they materialize from a distance to be a single long jagged range of mountains. The main islands are bounded by a flock of stacks and skerries, and are concave by copious inlets and fjords with rock walls up to 1,000m/3,300ft high. The mountains are of Alpine type with trait steep-sided summits bare and often snow-cladded.

Request Quotes for FREE!
Contact Details
3 + 3 =