Scenic, Monuments

The Place is subjugated by the Hotel de Ville, one of the biggest and finest buildings of its type in Belgium. It was begun in 1402 with the intent of upstaging the Stadhuis in the foe conurbation of Bruges. At first, the plan was to build only what is now the left wing; but in 1444 the right wing was also complete, followed in 1455 by Jan van Ruysbroek's 96m/315ft high belfry prevailed by the figure of St Michael. Though the French attack of 1695 left only the walls and tower standing, renovation started almost at once. Both wings are embroidered with very fine Gothic sculptures underneath which, under the walkways on the right, are the signs of inns formerly demolished to make

Request Quotes for FREE!
Contact Details
5 + 3 =