According to historical evidences, the princely town of Jamnagar was founded by Jam Raval in 1540 AD on the banks of River Rangmati and Nagmati and named it as Nawanagar which later on known as Jamnagar means the town of Jams. The town then saw several ups and downs from the reign of Mughals to the present town of Independent India. During the 1920s the city made impressive development when Shri Jam Ranjisinhji gave a new look to the city by making many broad roads, markets, gardens, squares and buildings. It is because of the sincere efforts of Ranjisinhji that it was once called as the ‘Jewel of Kathiawad’. After it, Digvijaysinhji hold the throne of Jamnagar in 1933 and built woolen mills, temples, swimming pool and many other buildings in the city. On 19th June, 1959, the Halar district got enlarged by including the adjoining Okhamandal and the district was renamed as Jamnagar. It became a part of Gujarat state in 1960 and in 1961, the district of Jamnagar was developed with 720 villages and 15 towns.