History of Dadra And Nagar Haveli

history-of-Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Entire history of Dadra and Nagar Haveli revolves round the game of the Portuguese who were supposed to be the Masters of the land. But actually, in the ancient era since 17th century, the Dadra and Nagar Haveli was under the rule of Kohli and was taken away by the Rajput Kings from their hands. Then, in the mid 18th century, the Marathas captured the region. Later on, the Maratha Peshwa in 1779 formed a treaty with the Portuguese and ordered them to accumulate the revenue from all the 72 villages, collectively referred as “Parganas”. Gradually, the ferocious Portuguese took over the entire control over Dadra and Nagar Haveli keeping the agreement aside.


The region remained under the rule of Portuguese for more than a century and came into the hands of Indian volunteers in July 1954. On 11th August 1961, the territory was mingled with the Indian Union and became a Union territory. After getting relieved from the grip of Portuguese, the place was ruled over by a Varishtha Panchayat. This administrative body got dispersed in August 1989 and then Pradesh Council came into being. Thus, the history of Dadra and Nagar Haveli founds to be very interesting having great chapters.