Somewhere between 1120 and 1150AD, King Suryavarman II began building this smallish, elegant Hindu temple. It has a central sanctuary, two libraries and four gopuras which are at the four prime points on the compass. Centuries of wars, neglect, and the natural elements have taken their toll, and Chao Say Tevoda had almost lost its charm and was in a very bad state. In 2000, refurbishment of the temple began, and was completed in 2009. The temple has some delicately done carvings, and most are still in fair condition. Though most of the carvings are Hindu related, there are also Buddhist associated reliefs which were added by King Jayavarman VII.